Kean Honors Seven Former Athletes

The Kean University Benisch Hall of Fame will induct its 2017 class in April

Campus News > Kean Honors Seven Former Athletes
Kean Honors Seven Former Athletes

The Kean University Benisch Hall of Fame is inducting its 2017 class

Sara Ridgway

Seven former Cougar athletes will join 124 current members of the Kean University Benisch Athletic Hall of Fame. Kean University Director of Athletics Jack McKiernan announced the news on Friday, February 24, 2017. 

The 2017 induction class includes:

  • Melissa Beyruti - women's basketball
  • Pascal Clergio - men's soccer
  • Johanna Hedler - softball
  • Ebony Jackson - women's basketball
  • Melissa Nunez - field hockey and women's lacrosse
  • Perry Schatzow - baseball
  • Jay Sgaramella - football

Inductees Schatzow and Sgaramella are still actively involved in the Kean University community. Schatzow is the night/weekend supervisor and Sgaramella is the Recreation Department assistant director of recreation, intramural's, facilities and event management.

The inductees were chosen by the Kean Athletics Hall of Fame selection committee. 

The Hall of Fame was created in 1981 to honor Kean University athletes who brought distinction to themselves and the university. There is a nomination form available for individuals to complete for deserving candidates. But to be eligible for induction, they must meet the following criteria:

1) Participant in intercollegiate athletics

2) Embodied highest ideals of amateur athletic competition

3) Distinguished themselves from their contemporaries through sustained performance of specific achievement over the course of their undergraduate athletic career

4) Made a lasting and significant contribution to Kean University's athletic program that sets them apart from their peers through the following channels: service, leadership or professional development

5) Graduated from Kean University a minimum of five years ago. 

The induction will be held on Thursday, April 20, 2017 at the North Avenue Academic Building (NAAB). 

"The event begins at 6 p.m. and it is open to the public with a limited amount of tickets available at $40," McKiernan said. 

For further information about securing a ticket to the event, contact Jack McKiernan by emailing 

Information about the athletes being inducted and the campus-news, top-section, campusnews

about the author

Sara Ridgway is double majoring in a marketing and communication with a concentration in media and film. She works as a Staff Writer for The Cougar’s Byte. Now entering her junior year at Kean University, Ridgway is currently honing her skills as she prepares for a career as a reporter upon graduation. In addition to being a well-rounded student, Ridgway has a variety of interests outside of the classroom. Ridgway plays for the Kean University women's volleyball team and also enjoys snowboarding, photography and other outdoor activities. She also has aspirations of travelling the world and working as a reporter abroad.